Genome sequence of Sf cell lines

Dear friends,

we have had some user requests where it would have been nice to have the genome sequence of the Sf9 or Sf21 cell lines available. E.g. we were trying to co-express tRNA from Drosophila in Sf21 cell using baculovirus, but the tRNA was not detectable by Northern blot. It would be unusual that tRNA promoters and other motifs triggering the transcription of endogenous Sf tRNA are so different that Drosophila tRNA motifs would not work (Drosophila tRNAs were used in yeast, so there seems to be a high level of conservation).

The question is, does anyone know of a fully sequenced Sf genome or a project working on that except the Spodobase (http://bioweb.ensam.inra.fr/spodobase/) which seems to be stuck at a very early stage and is far from being useful?

Would anyone else be interested in the genome sequence? I have read that these cell lines show a high tendency to be polyploid. I'm not an expert in that field, but I don't think that it would be a problem if there is more than one copy of a chromosome as long as Í know the sequence of a particular gene or promoter. We have the sequencing machines available in our institute, so the only question is whether we should do it or not.

Let me know what you think about this or if you have any suggestion, e.g. using the Sf larvae instead of one cell line?

Best regards

Hüseyin

Posted on 26-Sep-2012 15:51 CEST
Hüseyin Besir

Dear Hüseyin,